Readers ask: How Has California Voted In Presidential Elections?

How did California vote in the 2008 presidential election?

California was won by Democratic nominee Barack Obama with a 24.1% margin of victory. No Republican has carried the state in a presidential election since George H. W. Bush in 1988. With its 55 electoral votes, California was Obama’s largest electoral prize in 2008.

How did California vote in the 2004 presidential election?

Voters chose 55 representatives, or electors to the Electoral College, who voted for president and vice president. California was won by Democratic nominee John Kerry by a 9.95% margin of victory. Republicans presidential candidates have not taken California’s electoral votes since Bush’s father George H. W.

How did California vote in the 2012 presidential election?

According to Secretary of State Debra Bowen’s website, the President won the popular vote with 60.24 percent, with Mitt Romney in second place at 37.12%, and Libertarian candidate Gary Johnson in third place at 1.10%. With its 55 electoral votes, California was Obama’s largest electoral prize in 2012.

Who won the election of 1852 and why?

In the presidential election, Democratic former senator Franklin Pierce of New Hampshire defeated Whig General Winfield Scott. Pierce won the popular vote by a margin of seven percent, and dominated the electoral college.

You might be interested:  FAQ: How Many Presidential Elections Did The Whig Party Win?

Who lost the election of 1852?

The 1852 United States presidential election was the 17th quadrennial presidential election, held on Tuesday, November 2, 1852. Democrat Franklin Pierce, a former Senator from New Hampshire, defeated Whig nominee General Winfield Scott.

Did Ronald Reagan win California?

California voted for the Republican incumbent and former California Governor, Ronald Reagan, in a landslide over the Democratic challenger, former Minnesota Senator and Vice President Walter Mondale. Reagan easily won his home state with a comfortable 16.24% margin and carried all but five counties.

Who were the candidates for the 2008 presidential election?

The Democratic ticket of Barack Obama, the junior Senator from Illinois, and Joe Biden, the senior Senator from Delaware, defeated the Republican ticket of John McCain, the senior Senator from Arizona, and Sarah Palin, the Governor of Alaska.

What US Supreme Court case declared the blanket primary illegal?

In 2000 the Supreme Court of the United States struck down California’s blanket primary in California Democratic Party v. Jones. Jones, struck down the initiative, the Supreme Court ruled on March 18, 2008 in Washington State Grange v. Washington State Republican Party et al.

How many electoral votes does Texas carry?

The state of Texas has 38 electoral votes in the Electoral College.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *