FAQ: Which Countries Have Publuc Elections?

Which houses have direct elections?

Examples of directly elected bodies are the European Parliament (since 1979) and the United States House of Representatives. The MPs (members of parliament), MLAs (members of the legislature), and members of the local bodies are elected by direct election.

Which countries have indirect elections?

Republics with parliamentary systems usually elect their head of state indirectly (e.g. Germany, Italy, Estonia, Latvia, Malta, Hungary, India, Israel, Bangladesh). In most of these, the head of state is merely a ceremonial figurehead with limited power.

Is voting compulsory in Switzerland?

Until 1971 some cantons punished citizens for not voting (with a fine equivalent to $3). In the canton of Schaffhausen, voting is still compulsory. There are no voting machines in Switzerland; all votes are counted by hand.

Who is directly elected in India?

The Union Legislature (Parliament) has two houses – the Lok Sabha (the lower house, elected by the people of India from individual, simple majority constituencies) and the Rajya Sabha (the upper house, elected by the State Legislatures who in turn are directly elected by the people on the same lines as the Lok Sabha).

You might be interested:  FAQ: When Are French Presidential Elections?

In which country the president is elected every year?

Switzerland. The President of the Swiss Confederation is elected every year for a one-year term by the Federal Assembly among the seven Federal Councillors who collectively form together the Head of State.

How is a US President elected?

In other U.S. elections, candidates are elected directly by popular vote. But the president and vice president are not elected directly by citizens. Instead, they’re chosen by “electors” through a process called the Electoral College. It was a compromise between a popular vote by citizens and a vote in Congress.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of indirect election?

An advantage of Indirect election is that it is suited for elections in which constituencies are very large and in which millions of people have to participate. One disadvantage of this election is that it is less democratic as compared to Direct election.

Who elects the president of India?

The President of India is elected by the Members of an Electoral College consisting of (a) the elected members of both Houses of Parliament and (b) the elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of the States [including National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry vide the Constitution (

Who Cannot vote in Switzerland?

At federal level, exercising one’s political rights in the strictest sense (the right to stand for election and to vote in popular initiatives and referendums) is limited to Swiss citizens aged 18 or over, as prescribed by Articles 136, 143 and 150 of the Swiss Federal Constitution.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: When Are All Federal Elections Held?

Does Switzerland have an army?

The Swiss Armed Forces (German: Schweizer Armee, French: Armée suisse, Italian: Esercito svizzero, Romansh: Armada svizra) operates on land and in the air, serving as the primary armed forces of Switzerland. Compulsory military service applies to all male Swiss citizens, with women serving voluntarily.

What is the capital of Switzerland?

Bern, also spelled Berne, city, capital of Switzerland and of Bern canton, in the west-central part of the country. It lies along a narrow loop of the Aare River.

What is the maximum age of PM?

be above 25 years of age if they are a member of the Lok Sabha, or, above 30 years of age if they are a member of the Rajya Sabha. not hold any office of profit under the government of India or the government of any state or under any local or other authority subject to the control of any of the said governments.

Is mayor directly elected in India?

The tenure of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor is five years. However, in seven states; Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand; Mayors are directly elected by the people and thus hold the executive powers of the municipal corporations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *